Give me a G Chord,

Now give me a C7,

imagesAll right, Jimi, just keep playing.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

We take time out from our work in progress to bring you this public service message:

(music plays)

I remember when, The old timers always say.

“Shut up old man,” Say the young ones, “We got games to play.”

 

“I remember when gas was only 29 cents a gallon,” the old timer said.

“I remember when there was always something good on TV. Not just commercials.

And it was free. I remember when

the news was news and not poison pills. I remember when the world was cool.”

 

“Shut up,” old man,”  Say the young ones. “We got games to play. I’m on the tenth level of Call of Duty. I don’t care anyway.”

 

“I remember when the Sunday paper was six inches thick, And it had big color comics,

And Tarzan and Flash Gordon ruled. And there was time to read them.”

 

“Shut up, old man,” Say the young ones, “We got games to play, I’m on the tenth level of Call of Duty. I don’t care anyway.”

 

“I remember when movies used to tell stories

About people, real life people. And you didn’t need

no special effects to put them on the screen. I remember when

the people in movies were like you or me, Not Superheroes wearing tights, and are half-crazy.”

 

“Shut up, old man.” Say the young ones. “We got games to play. I’m on the tenth level of Call of Duty. I don’t care anyway.”

 

“I remember when people walked down the street, And they used to look at you.

Instead of talking into a cell phone and looking at nothin’.

Nothin’ but themselves. I remember when they didn’t

send messages and tweet about every little thing they do that they think

anyone gives a hoot about. But they really don’t. . .

I was in the woods yesterday at dusk and I heard the owl hoot,

and a murder of crows answered him, and another owl answered

from a distance. I heard it plain, and the message was clear.”

 

“Shut up, old man,” Say the young ones. “We got games to play, I’m on the tenth level of Call of Duty, I don’t care anyway.”

 

“The message was clear. The crow and the owl. They know.”

 

Keep playing those chords, Jimi. Just keep playing.

 

Copyright 2012 John M. Whalen.

