Christmas-Tree-Wallpaper-christmas-8142630-1024-768

This blog began in April of this year and it’s been quite a lot of fun posting the different articles, thoughts, ideas, stories. It’s been especially gratifying to see the number of people who have tuned in here. And even more so when people post comments on some of the articles. I’d love to hear from more of you.

The year past has had its ups and down, but has generally been a very positive year. I had some real highs during 2012. Among them was appearing on the cover of the second pre-launch issue of Amazing Stories magazine. In conjunction with that I have joined a community of  50 writers who will be blogging for the world’s most famous science fiction publication, which is being revived by Steve Davidson.

The year began with another honor. My short story, “The Man Who Had No Soul,” finished in the top ten (sixth place) in the Preditors and Editors Readers Poll for the Best Science Fiction/Fantasy short of 2011.

Another milestone was winning the Editor’s Choice award for my story, “Undead Empire, Gog!” in the Pill Hill Press anthology, Conquest Through Determination: Steampunk in all Its Splendour. 

I was also happy that Pill Hill Press editor Miles Boothe accepted my short story, “The Shape of a Cage,” for the third volume in Pill Hill’s monster hunter series, Use Enough Gun. This collection has not yet hit the presses, but is expected to be out on the street early 2013. I’m pretty proud of the Mordecai Slate stories, and I think this may be the best one yet.

Another highlight was the acceptance by Christopher Heath of “The Red Heart of Dolfar,” for his Artifacts and Relics: Extreme Sorcery anthology. That tale features my interepid pre-historic sea farers, Tragon of Ramura and Yusef. That book will be forthcoming next year as well.

Next year promises to be even more exciting. Coming up in 2013 is the publication of the first Mordecai Slate novel, Vampire Siege at Rio Muerto. There are other things in the pipeline that I hope to be telling you about next year as well.

But for now, let me say thanks to all those who made 2012 such a terrific year and offer Best Wishes to one and all for a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

