Finlay_Golden_Atlantis_headerHey, what is this? The World Fantasy Convention is being held this weekend at a hotel 10 miles from where I live, and I wasn’t invited to be a guest speaker, or receive an award?!! Godfrey Daniels! Obviously an oversight on their part. Do they expect me to pay $250 just to walk in the door, so I can have a chance to hawk VAMPIRE SIEGE AT RIO MUERTO, and chase down Michael Dirda so I can give him a copy of the book to review? Like he’d even be up for that!

It’s probably too late anyway. You can’t buy a ticket at the door. You had to register in advance.

Looking at the list of honorees and award winners, it doesn’t sound like my kind of crowd anyway. It’s the Lord of the Rings spin-off world mostly in attendance.

So I guess I’ll sit this one out. Next year it’ll be held in Saratoga Springs, NY. That sounds like more fun than Crystal City in Arlington,Va, which has been described by people who work there (I was one of them once) as The Death Star. The World Fantasy organization’s got a whole year to let me know about my award and what time I’ll be speaking.

Over and out.

 

