true_1No sense saying much about the True Detective finale other than it was everything you could hope for with one exception. To go into detail about how the eight part series wrapped up would be to write nothing but spoilers and I’d hate to ruin it for those who haven’t seen it yet.

The series had its flaws but overall was uniformly excellent.

The one thing I didn’t like, the one exception, was a nasty little helping of cruelty heaped onto one particular character. You knew he wouldn’t survive but at least a message he sent to a loved one could have gotten through. Come on, Pizzolatto. Couldn’t you at least have given him that? Such overdone heavy handedness almost ruined the climax.

There were many emotional peaks over the 90 minute episode, and several action set pieces that were well staged and executed and I think most of the questions raised in the complicated plot were answered. But I wouldn’t swear to it. I don’t care if they were or not.

What makes a story for me is the emotional attachment you develop for the characters– the identification with them. And the themes the writer touches on. Pizzolatto knows the truth that fate deals you a hand of cards and you can play them any way you want. But in the end, no matter what, the house always wins. I’ll take three.

