Jurassic_World_poster

Okay. Jurassic Park worked because Michael Chrichton had the sense to set the story in the park before it opened. It was credible as a failed experiment type of story. But Jurassic World (shown last night on HBO) as a theme park full of thousands of people walking and riding and canoeing amidst living dinosaurs is totally ridiculous. The concept doesn’t touch base with reality. There are so many implausibilities in the whole premise and in plot development they aren’t worth discussing. Chris Pratt continues as the modern version of an alpha male hero– he’s a dinosaur whisperer. He’d rather have them for tea than shoot ’em. It scores high points for visual effects and is probably a movie I would have loved when I was 12. In fact, I know I would. Wish I could be 12 again.

