Just saw Rogue One and have to say I was disappointed. The screenwriters blew it. The first over two hours are filled with action on the ground, in the air and all over the place, but who is doing all this action and what it all means and where it fins into the Star Wars canon is not explained until the very end of the movie. And then its too late and you feel oddly guilty that you didn’t pay more attention. And your mind does tend to wonder during the movie.

It’s an odd mistake but I guess this crew doesn’t know one of the basic rules of story telling. Some writers think that withholding information keeps the viewer or reader watching or reading in order to find out what’s going on. Wrong. It only confuses and irritates the audience.

And I’m really tired of hearing about the force being with whoever. In this one there’s a new mantra. “I am one with the force and the force is one with me,” or some such gibberish. Gagh.

